Creating a JsNumber on C# side to use on the JS side

Jul 25, 2011 at 12:25 AM

I'm setting up a C# function to call from a JS script which returns a double.   Then, on the JS side, I assign that value to variable and then try to call toFixed() on that number.   I'm getting an exception:

throw new JsException(Global.ErrorClass.New("Function expected."));

which is in the ExecutionVisitor.cs file  (method is "public void Visit(MethodCall methodCall)").

What I was originally doing was not even using JsNumber on the C# side.  Instead, I used "double" and hoped that some kind of marshaling was going on under the covers to auto-magically convert what the C# side to a JsNumber on the Javascript side.    Then, I started playing with JsNumber directly and this isn't working either.

The JS code is (the print() will work if I use "num" instead of "num.toFixed(2), whether I use a double or JsNumber to represent the C# double value being retrieved and then passed on to the script":

function main()
{
  var num = getDouble();
  print("double = " + num.toFixed(2));
}

The C# code is:

public void InitializeJS()
{
  // print(s) is just outputting the string to a TextBox on a Windows Form

jint = new JintEngine().
     .SetFunction("print", new Action<string>(s => print(s); }))
     .SetFunction("getDouble", new Func<JsNumber>(() => { return GetDouble(); }))
     .DisableSecurity();

var source = File.ReadAllText("file.js");
  program = JintEngine.Compile(source, false);
  jint.Run(program);
}

// Num below is of type decimal and is a property type which is
// grabbing a real-time stream of values coming into the C# program
private JsNumber GetDouble()
{
  return new JsNumber(Convert.ToDouble(Num), JsUndefined.Instance);
}
// Here's the Javascript main function getting called repeatedly from the C# side as a new double comes in
public void ValueReceived(double num)
{
  Num = num;
  jint.CallFunction("main", new object[] {});
}

Questions: